DIY Christmas Stockings

Hey y’all! Welcome to “Blogmas” day 5. Sorry I didn’t post anything yesterday, but I decided I’m not going to be posting on Sundays during the holidays. Just so I have 1 day a week to relax.

I am a senior in High school and we are required to do a “graduation project”. I chose to learn how to sew and actually made a really cute swing dress that I will probably show you guys soon. I thought it would be cute to sew everyone in my family a stocking for christmas!

The first thing I did was go and buy 5 different patterned cotton fabrics ( a different one for each person). I got 3/4 yd. of each because I wasn’t sure how big I was going to make them. I can actually end up making 2 stockings out of each 3/4 yd so now I am going to be making 10 stockings!

I traced a stocking that we already had so that I could cut out the fabric.

FullSizeRender 37.jpg

IMG_3295.JPG

FullSizeRender 38.jpg

Once you have finished cutting the fabric out, sewing it is pretty simple. There are many tutorials on youtube if you are nor sure what to do. I used a piece of scrap fabric to practice on first so I wouldn’t mess up any of the Christmas prints! It’s super easy to do, even if you are not a wiz on the sewing machine ( I’m not either! ). If I can do it, you can too, I promise.

The stockings I have made so far:

IMG_3296 2.JPG

IMG_3298 2.JPG

IMG_3299 2.JPG

Comment down below your favorite. Mine is the one with the little dogs on it! I made it for my puppy’s first Christmas. I hope this gave you some inspiration and that you make some too!

Make sure to follow this blog so you won’t miss a day of “Blogmas”!

-EM MARIE

 

Leave a Reply

